Search This Blog

Saturday, January 26, 2013

David Hargrave's Experience System (AA)

The Arduin Adventure. Often overlooked, it defined its time.   Let's fast forward to 1980 from the earlier 1970s release of AG I - III.

I know I previously said I was going to talk about experience and how it was handled under the Compleat Arduin (CA) but let's make a quick stop by the Arduin Adventure (AA). Often overlooked, it was the first cohesion of Arduin into a fuller game system. David Hargrave's look into experience was much simpler in explanation though he maintained the previous chart as a guide for newbies to his game. Here, it was explained like this:

“Experience is what all people accrue as they proceed through life. This is what we learn while doing “our jobs” and “coping” with different situations. In the game, this is shown by a character’s ability to better himself, fight, evade, etc. as he gains experience levels (EL).

Each character will gain one experience level (EL) for each five adventures completed (through fourth level). Thereafter it takes 20 adventures to gain each additional EL. Later on you can use more precise “point value experience systems”, such as the Arduin Trilogy has, for a more detailed awarding of experience.”

In the intervening years between the release of AG I and the publication of the Arduin Adventure we see a change in accounting. Gone is the idea of placing point values to action, items and experience and in is a focus on the experience of playing, the making of each game session important to the advancement of a character. You can still employ it, as mentioned above. By and far not revelational now but then it was a vast departure from the norm. It also made sense. It was a path David Hargrave started on but was one that was carried forward when some of his fans and personal core group took up his banner and completed the CA in his name.

No comments:

Post a Comment